Why groups are public by default

Dan Holme

by Dan Holme on 5/5/2015

Share this:
Print

Article Details

Date Revised:
5/5/2015


With the power of Office Graph and Delve, you can discover the people and groups you need to get your job done.

Traditional tools discourage visibility of corporate efforts and expertise. You don't want to blast an email to the entire organization saying, "We've got this project going on, in case there's any synergy with something you need or are doing". We don't want to "spam" people. But the idea is a good one. Many organizations find themselves "re-inventing the wheel" because people just don't know what has happened before, or what's happening currently, in the organization.

Because Office Graph and Delve allow a user to discover, rather than be "told" or "spammed", these new tools should reduce the friction that reduced the visibility of efforts and expertise.

Groups can be made private, meaning the content of the group is hidden from non-members. The group itself will be visible. This isn't terribly new. Users can see almost any Active Directory group or Exchange distribution group. So you want to be careful not to name the group something that discloses information that should not be disclosed. But even though the group is visible, the content of a private group is not.

Content. Community. Events.

Unity Vision


IT Unity Newsletters


Unity Connect Amsterdam