Changing your Privacy Relationship in Skype for Business

Making sure you're displaying appropriate information to your contacts.

Thomas Duff

by Thomas Duff on 1/13/2017

Share this:
Print

Article Details

Date Revised:
1/12/2017

Applies to:
Privacy Relationship, Skype for business


I stumbled across the Privacy Relationship settings in Skype for Business yesterday, and I found some interesting options that I thought I'd share with you today.

From your Skype for Business list of contacts, right-click on one of the names and hover over the Change Privacy Relationship option:

That action brings up the following list of settings for what you display to your contact:

By default, most of my contacts are set as Colleagues, which means they can see all my work-related contact information. Since I'm pretty open with my contact details, I could choose to make them Friends and Family, and then they could see all my information except my meeting details.

However, the option I find more interesting is Workgroup. It's similar to Colleagues, except that it also shares your mobile phone number. It also allows the contact to interrupt you when you're in Do Not Disturb status! In this example, I've given Sandra that option since she's my manager. I want her to be able to send me a message at any time.

Check out these Skype for Business Privacy Relationship settings, and make sure you're comfortable with the information you're providing to your various contacts.

Topic: One Minute Office Magic

Sign in with

Or register

In This Series